New Release: Daya & Ananda – Colores del Corazon

Sylvan Sound is proud to announce the charity release of the new album Colores del Corazon (Colours of the Heart) by Daya & Ananda. All income supports the donation-based, non-governmental community cornerstone Montessori school Ananda Learning Centre / Centro de Aprendizaje Ananda in the village San Sebastian Rio Hondo in the Sierra Sur mountains of Oaxaca, Mexico.

Music teacher Daya with a chorus of primary school kids and teachers takes you on a musical journey in English and Spanish through uplifting earth songs, traditional music, spiritual hymns and indigenous chants – not just for kids!

Get the album here! The download includes words and chords to almost all the songs and is a great resource for the increasingly relevant reality of homeschooling!

Read the full story of Ananda and the recording of this album here.

Listen to the free single May the Longtime Sun:

  1. May the Longtime Sun Daya & Ananda 2:05

From the kids and teachers at Ananda: THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!


Sylvan Sound supports Ananda Learning Centre

Sylvan Sound launches the album category “charity” in support of Ananda Learning Centre / Centro de Aprendizaje Ananda in Mexico.

Ananda is a non-profit, donation-based alternative Montessori school for preschool and primary kids of all backgrounds. This cornerstone community school is situated in the indigenous village San Sebastian Rio Hondo in the Sierra Sur mountains of Oaxaca.

Read the story of this groundbreaking project and the recording of the charity album Daya & Ananda – Colores del Corazon here:

In English – Ananda Learning Centre
En espanol – Centro de Aprendizaje Ananda

Ananse Y La Luna rebirths as Elephant Underwater with new music video

The forest has been our friend here in the Sierra Sur of Oaxaca during the coronavirus lockdown. Anisha Aiyappa AKA Ananse Y La Luna can now add another “Also Known As” to that title – ELEPHANT UNDERWATER – as she floats her life and music to deeper levels. She has been busy making videos in caves and playing music in forests and has launched a new blog, Soundcloud channel and YouTube channel!

From her album Tengo Que Cantar comes a brand new free single and music video shot here in the mountains and edited by Adrian Landeros, a filmmaker we are lucky to have as a neighbour.

Check it out, THIS. WILL. TAKE. YOU. PLACES! Contains nudity.

Get the album Tengo Que Cantar by Ananse Y La Luna AKA Elephant Underwater here!


The Stripe payment system has recently opened up in Mexico so Sylvan Sound customers can now choose to pay by credit / debit cards through their service (in addition to Paypal). You can now choose between US dollars and MX pesos in the shop, in your cart or at checkout. Due to a Stripe limitation, to pay with a Mexican bank card you MUST choose MXN as your currency – USD will hopefully work for all other countries.

El sistema de pago Stripe se ha abierto recientemente en México, por lo que los clientes de Sylvan Sound ahora pueden elegir pagar con tarjetas de crédito / débito a través de su servicio (además de Paypal). Se puede cambiar entre dólares estadounidenses y pesos mexicanos en la tienda, en su carrito o al finalizar la compra. Debido a una limitación de Stripe, para pagar con una tarjeta bancaria mexicana DEBE elegir el MXN como su divisa; esperamos que USD funcione para todos los demás países.

Oaxaca Album Release Tour

This mini-tour, where Ananse Y La Luna and Martin are joined by Barba Mutante and VJ Psiilo, marks the initiation of several projects rolled into one:

  • The release of Ananse Y La Luna’s new album Tengo Que Cantar.
  • The release of Martin’s new album Norge På Langs
  • The first public performance of the new musicians’ collective Salvajes
  • The launch of the brand new record label Sylvan Sound

The show includes tracks from the two albums, recorded tracks with a visual show and brand new tracks from the collective.

Dates have been confirmed in October in Oaxaca City, Mexico, and up in the Sierra Sur mountains in San Jose Del Pacifico and San Mateo Rio Hondo.

Double album release!

We celebrate the launch of Sylvan Sound with a double album release:

Ananse Y La Luna’s intensely personal yet rooted in world traditions Tengo Que Cantar (“I must sing”)

… and Martin’s modern take on Norwegian traditional music in Norge På Langs (“Norway Lengthwise”)

Listen to the free singles: Abeja by Ananse Y La Luna and Hei Fara by Martin:

  1. Abeja Ananse Y La Luna 3:43
  2. Hei Fara Martin 4:37

Go to the shop to get your downloads!